Movember Lingers

I have to give credit where blame is due.  My buddy and Rev3 teammate, Ryan, clued me into this whole thing.  Maybe you read about it in last month’s Competitor magazine…

Movember, a month-long effort to raise awareness and funds to support prostate cancer research and other male cancers.

My goal! Thanks Competitor Magazine.

Seemed like a great idea!  Clearly its a great cause.  Guys if you don’t know a guy, or know a guy who knows a guy who’s battled prostate cancer my guess is you’re under 30, or the guys you know just don’t talk about that kind of stuff.

I know several. My Dad’s dad died from it (or at least that’s where they think the cancer started). I also have a client/colleague who was diagnosed this summer.  He isn’t afraid to talk about it at all.  I’ve learned more from him than anyone else.  He was diagnosed without any symptoms because of your typical annual physical and some pretty simple baseline testing.  As a result, his prognosis is excellent.  We should all be so lucky.  He would tell you its not luck at all.

Well, talking about IT is what Movember is all about.  Yes, its about fundraising and research.  But I bug people for donations often enough. (Yeah, get ready.)  So for me its an excuse to grow some outlandish facial hair that no one in their right mind would otherwise set out to grow.  The plan was simple: look ridiculous for a month and when anyone asked what the hell you were doing, or even better, for-the-love-of-God WHY.  Tell ’em its MO-vember and where they can make a donation.

I stopped shaving on Nov. 1, no one noticed until the middle of the month.  Three weeks in, I couldn’t wait until Dec 1!  I made it though Thanksgiving with the family without giving my mom a heart attack or scaring my nephew.  Then I actually started to get a few compliments and a lot of ‘are you gunna keep it?’

So why not?  Good causes don’t take 11 months off.  I can just start to twist the corners!  The Magnum PI jokes are pretty funny.  Mark Spitz won seven gold medals with one!  Pre did alright.  I’m sure it won’t last forever, but here goes!

If they ask me to leave the pool when the HS girls practice, I'm shaving it!

About acbeeson

Professional engineer, passionate triathlete, once a runner always a runner, Husker fanatic but CO is the place to be!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

