Rev3 Wisconsin Dells – Vacation

This is my 3rd season racing for the Rev3 team.  I’ve been to 8 or 10 Rev3 races and its always obvious how much emphasis they place on making their events family friendly.  I shouldn’t say its lost on me because I recognize and appreciate it, but its not something of which I take full advantage.  My wife has been to a few races, several of our tri friends have come along, my mom and cousin have even come out to watch and cheer.  But we’ve never been in a single jump castle, or done an adventure race, and I’ve always run across the finish line by myself.  Clearly, I’ve been missing out.

So I recruited some family help for our trip to the Rev3 race in the Wisconsin Dells.  Maybe I was feeling a bit nostalgic.  I remember taking a family vacation there when I was 7 or 8 years old.  (Mostly I remember riding the Duck Boats and NOT being allowed to ride the bumper boats.)  This time we brought the whole crew, wife, mom, dad, sister, brother in law, two nephews (Logan, almost 4 and Eli, almost 1), and niece (Anna, 6).  My aunt and uncle (mom’s brother) even drove up for the day to watch the race.

We’ve been gifting our niece and nephew swimming lessons since they were born, well almost.  So they are VERY comfortable in water and if you haven’t been to the Dells, its all about water!  Parks, pools, slides, cannons, lazy rivers, ski shows, you name it, they have it.

Fortunately, Anna and Logan are still young enough that they don’t want to do it all.  They were more than happy with the two pools, slides, whirlpool, water cannons, lily pads and dump buckets at our condo.  (Highly recommend Wilderness on the Lake!) We ventured out to one of the other water parks included in the Wilderness complex for an afternoon.  But left the other 7 water parks, mini-golf, real golf, zip line, and wagon ride for the next trip (and that’s just at Wilderness, we hardly left the complex).

I’m pretty sure I had the only one close call at the water park.  A black and blue big toe.  Surprise, those mats you ride down the water slide are slippery.  Don’t walk on them, ever, not just the day before your race.  Regardless, I had a great time.  If we do it again, I’m staying a day or two afterward and taking full advantage of the water parks!

There’s something for everyone

Eli, starting early!

Uncle Tony, aka the zero meter springboard.

Anna’s on the right, she won in a photo finish.

Who can say no to go-carts?

I think both of us were having fun, but I KNOW one of us was.

Running to the finish. Rev3 at its finest!

Faster!

The Finishers!

Yup, there’s something for everyone!

About acbeeson

Professional engineer, passionate triathlete, once a runner always a runner, Husker fanatic but CO is the place to be!
This entry was posted in Race Report, Swimming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rev3 Wisconsin Dells – Vacation

  1. Pam Johnson says:

    wow, what a great family time!! The water looks so inviting. I can’t believe how Chris’s family is growing up. It’s wonderful that you could all be there together!
    Love and miss seeing you
    Pam

  2. Ted Exley says:

    I have heard so much about the Wisconsin water parks but I had no idea it was the water capital of the world. How neat! Thanks for sharing, it looks like a great time!

Leave a Reply

