Scheduling

Okay, so I’ve had most of 2013 planned out for some time now. But just in my head.  I imagine I’m like most triathletes in that I started planning out 2013 last October, or earlier.  Scheduling races isn’t easy, there’s rarely time to do all the things I’d like to do.  Some just don’t fit well with others.  Some don’t fit well with other things in life, weddings, reunions, conferences, things I have no control over scheduling, and some are just bad ideas.  After that, you compare your list to your spouse’s list and however you resolve that, please let me know.  Then its time to balance THE list against the budget and allotted vacation days.  Oh, and don’t forget to start this process early enough so you can register before the races sell out.

If you’re like me, this process usually starts with that ‘A-race’.  The PR you want, the race you want to qualify for, or the hard to get entry that finally came through.  For me, its Ironman Canada again this year.  Yes, I’m still chasing a KQ performance, for this year at least.  I made the decision based on two things; a late August race maximizes the training season here, and  all the turmoil between IMCanada, Penticton, and Challenge resulted in a some uncertainty over the location so WTC sweetened the pot by offering 100 KQ spots at this years race instead of the normal 50.  Then they decided on Whistler, BC, a place we’ve always wanted to visit, it seemed like a good fit.

My next most important goal for 2013 is performing well enough in the 2013 Revolution 3 Triathlon series to earn a spot in their age group championship race.  If you haven’t heard about it, check this out.  That means doing well at a couple of early season Olympic distance events at Knoxville and Williamsburg.

I’ve raced Rev3 Knoxville three years in a row now, and love the timing (itching to race by early May), the venue (challenging but fair couse), and the logistics (travel was so easy last year and there is so much so close to the race site).  This year it will be great chance to preview the series championship course.

I’m also really excited about the first year for Rev3 Williamsburg.  My wife and I like visiting new places and neither of us have ever been to northern Virgina.  We’ll definitely spend a few extra days doing tourist-y things.  My mom’s cousin and great friend lives a few hours away, so they’re planning a vacation around the race too.  They did the same thing at the 2011 Rev3 South Carolina race and had a great time.

IMG_0015

From there, the schedule gets filled in with ‘training event’ races that aren’t as significant.  Last year I didn’t do a single triathlon in the state of Colorado and it kind of bothered me.  We have a lot of great events here that don’t require flights or vacation days, so this year I’m doing a half in Boulder that schedules well with Canada, and an early season Olympic in Grand Junction.

We have several friends racing in GJ and it seemed like a great chance to just have some fun.  It also happens that the race is the weekend preceding an awesome volunteer opportunity/work commitment.  Two of my best clients sponsor a ‘Children’s Water Festival’ at the local University for roughly 15oo local 5th grade students.  Last year some co-workers and I did a series of demonstrations on how temperature and salinity affect density and ocean currents.  I’m looking forward to it already.

Amazingly, Michele and I had one event in common on our list this year, the Buena Vista Bike Fest.  It amounts to great supported training ride with beer and bluegrass at the finish.  We did it last year and had a great time seeing some new parts of Colorado and spending the weekend with friends.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Obviously, there’s a couple of months at the end of the season that aren’t scheduled yet.  We’ll see how I feel, what opportunities are available, and what the budget will allow.  Rev3 has another new race in Branson that I’m eye balling and I almost pulled the trigger on a last minute trip to Rev3 Florida last year.  Maybe a relay this year, finishing on a warm beach sounds like a nice idea.

About acbeeson

Professional engineer, passionate triathlete, once a runner always a runner, Husker fanatic but CO is the place to be!
This entry was posted in Biking, Running, Swimming, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

